Welcome 2014 to the rhythm of one common beat.

The country’s network giants are set to synchronize their timepieces with the official Philippine Standard Time (PhST) in greeting the New Year after consultations with officials from the Department of Science and Technology led by Secretary Mario G. Montejo.

President Benigno Aquino III signed into law Republic Act 10535 or the Philippine Standard Time Act of 2013 requiring all national and local government offices as well as broadcasting organizations to display PhST as provided by the DOST’s Philippine Atmosperic, Geophysical, and Astronomical Services Administration or PAGASA, the country’s official timekeeper.