Cagayan de Oro City – Thirty-two (32) Department of Science and Technology-Science Education Institute (DOST-SEI) scholar-graduates took oath as Special Science Teachers I of the Department of Education – Cagayan de Oro City Division during the Oath-taking Ceremony held on 07 August 2020 at the Cagayan de Oro City Hall.

The newly hired teachers were recipients of the DOST-SEI Junior Level Science Scholarship Program under RA 10612 or the Fast-tracked S&T Scholarship Act of 2013, a law expanding the coverage of the Science and Technology (S&T) Scholarship Program and strengthening the teaching of science and mathematics in secondary schools. The scholars are required to teach in senior high schools upon graduation for a period equivalent to the number of years they enjoyed the scholarship.

Mayor Oscar S. Moreno leads the oath-taking ceremony of the newly-hired teachers of DepEd-CDO who are graduates of the DOST-SEI Junior Level Science Scholarship Program. (DOST-X)

Dr. Cherry Mae L. Limbaco, DepEd-CDO Schools Division Superintendent, welcomed and challenged the new members of the education sector to adapt to the new normal involving distance learning. She stressed that teachers must relate and interact with the parents to effectively educate the students despite the challenges of the pandemic.

Hon. Oscar S. Moreno, Cagayan de Oro City Mayor, administered the oath-taking of the new teachers, together with Regional Director Alfonso P. Alamban of DOST-X and Dr. Limbaco. (Renato A. Macabodbod, DOST-X/For more inquiries contact: Ms. Julie Anne H. Baculio, Science Research Specialist I (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., 0917-709-3706) #



Pin It